Do not attend traffic school unless you are eligible and have paid your fine and nonrefundable traffic school fees to the court.
If you are an eligible non-commercial license holder, and complete a traffic violator school program, your conviction will be held confidential and not show on your driving record.
California Vehicle Code Section 1808.7 mandates that only one citation in an eighteen (18) month period be masked from public view on your driving record. The 18-month period is calculated from citation/violation date, not class attendance date.
Drivers with a commercial driver's license can only attend traffic school if they were not driving a commercial vehicle. Upon completion, the record of conviction will not be held confidential, but the conviction will not add a point count to the DMV record.
If you attend traffic school even though you are not eligible, the DMV will not mask the conviction on your driver's record.
Cases in which a defendant has failed to appear under Penal Code section 1214.1 are not eligible for traffic school unless the civil monetary assessment has been paid in full. A violation on which the defendant failed to appear under Vehicle Code section 40508(a) is also ineligible for traffic school, unless the failure-to-appear charge has been adjudicated and any fine imposed has been paid.
Additionally, you are not eligible to attend traffic school for any:
- Equipment violation
- Misdemeanor violation
- Violation with a mandatory Court appearance
- Violation that carries a negligent operator point count of more than one point under Vehicle Code section 12810 or one and one-half points or more under Vehicle Code section 12810.5(b)(2)
- Violation of Vehicle Code section 22406.5 (tank vehicles)
- Violation related to alcohol use or possession or drug use or possession
- Speeding violation in which the speed alleged is more than 25 miles over a speed limit.
Note: If you are eligible and decide not to attend traffic school your automobile insurance may be adversely affected.
For drivers with a noncommercial driver¹s license, one conviction in any 18-month period will be held confidential and not show on your driving record if you complete a traffic violator school program. For drivers with a commercial driver¹s license, one conviction in any 18-month period will show on your driving record without a violation point if you complete a traffic violator school program.
Traffic School Requirements
You must pay the full amount of the bail, plus an additional $52 administrative fee, prior to attending traffic school. Once you have paid your fine and nonrefundable traffic school fees, you have 90 days to attend an approved traffic school. If there are any correctable violations on your citation, the corrections must be received along with your fine and fees before permission to attend traffic school will be granted. Traffic schools will charge an additional fee to enroll.
The traffic school you select will require you to provide a court code in order to electronically send your completion certificate to the correct court. The Sutter County Superior Court code is 51460. In addition to the court code, you will also be required to provide your case number or citation number. This information is located at the top of your courtesy notice.
Approved Traffic Schools
The following is a link to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) web site. Click on this link to obtain lists of licensed classroom, home study, and Internet based traffic schools.