Jul. 28, 2014
A A A

Collections



Collections

If you fail to pay a court ordered fine as directed in a courtesy notice or as ordered by the court, the matter will be referred to the court’s collections unit and a civil assessment notice will be issued.   

If you do not pay the fine by the due date an additional civil assessment of $325 will be added to the amount owed unless you provide written proof of "good cause" for your failure to pay. In additition to the civil assessment of $325, a hold may be placed on your driver's license (pursuant to CVC 40509/40509.5) The court may also submit your case to a third-party collection vendor which could also adversely affect your credit rating.  The vendor may  attach your wages and bank account(s), or subtract it from your tax refund and/or lottery winnings without notice.

Once a hold is placed on your driver’s license, the court may not release the hold until the fine has been paid in full.  

EXCEPTIONS/TRAFFIC SCHOOL

If within 10 days of mailing of the civil assessment notice, you show good cause for the failure to appear or failure to pay, the court may vacate the additional civil assessment. Good cause for failure to appear or pay is limited to  serving in the military overseas, hospitalization, incarceration, or a death of an immediate family member. You must provide written official proof signed by a military officer or doctor; an incarceration record; or death certificate to the Collection Division.

The fact that you moved is not considered an acceptable cause for failing to appear or pay. It is your obligation to notify the court of any change of address or phone number.

Once your case has been referred to the collections unit you are not eligible to attend traffic violator school unless the civil monetary assessment has been paid.

Questions? 

Contact the Collections Division at (530) 822-3301. Have your case number and/or account number ready when calling.

Payment Information

Your case may be eligible for installment payments without an appearance before a judicial officer. For more information you may contact the Collections Division by calling (530) 822-3301.

You have several options for making a payment on a collections case.

In Person:

Sutter County Superior Court

446 Second St., Yuba City, CA 95991

Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (excluding weekends and Holidays).

Online:

Online Payment System

(Accounts that have been referred to the Franchise Tax Board are not eligible for payment online)

Automated Phone System:

(530) 822-3307

(Accounts that have been referred to the Franchise Tax Board are not eligible for payment online)

By Mail:

Superior Court of California County of Sutter 

446 Second St

Yuba City, CA 95991

Check or Money Order should be made payable to: Sutter Superior Court Do Not Mail Cash

Outside Collection Vendors

Franchise Tax Board-Court Ordered Debt

P.O. Box 1328 

Rancho Cordova, CA 95741 

Phone: (916) 845-4064

© 2014 Superior Court of California, County of Sutter