- Online Services Calendars, Tentative Rulings...
- Forms & Filings Forms, Fee Schedule...
- Self-Help Self-Rep, Info, FAQs...
- Divisions Civil, Criminal, Traffic...
- General Info Local Rules, ADA, Locations...
Frequently Asked Questions
Do you accept fax filings? +
Sutter County Court does not have a direct line for accepting fax filings. Please refer to California Rule of Court 2.303 (rev. 7/1/10) for using the services of a fax filing agency to submit documents. Please check the Yellow Pages of the phone directory for services that may be available in Sutter County. The court will accept a fax filing from an agency when in compliance with rules of court and if appropriate fees are submitted. Each document filed by a fax filing agency shall contain the phrase "BY FAX" immediately below the title of the document and must be physically transported to the Court.
How do I obtain a continuance or notify the court of settlement? +
Requests for continuances of law and motion matters or case management conferences shall be made by written stipulation of the parties or counsel along with the applicable filing fee. The stipulation, order and continuance fee must be received and signed by the court prior to the date and time for the hearing.
Requests for continuance of any court and/or jury trials will be considered only by a properly noticed motion and payment of the appropriate filing fees. Parties should contact the court to advise the case has settled and and then follow up with the mandatory judicial council form Notice of Settlement of Entire Case. Upon review by the Court, the matter may be ordered dropped from calendar.
How do I arrange an ex parte hearing? +
Civil, probate and conservatorship ex parte hearings are heard in Department B at 3:00 pm Monday through Thursday.
Family law and guardianship ex parte hearings are heard in Department A at 1:15 pm Tuesday through Friday. Prior arrangements must be made with the civil clerk and, pursuant to California Rules of Court 3.1203, a party seeking an ex parte hearing must notify all parties no later than 10:00 am the court day before the appearance, absent a showing of exceptional circumstances. There is a filing fee for the ex parte hearing and another filing fee for a motion or order to show cause that requires a hearing.
Do you have tentative rulings for motions or orders to show cause? +
Pursuant to California Rules of Court 3.1308, Sutter County does not offer tentative rulings, and appearances are necessary for law and motion hearings.
How do I find out my court date or if my case is on the calendar? +
Calendars for non-confidential matters are available on this website by name, type of case, case number, attorney, date, or department. Visit the Court Calendar page and choose the method in which to locate your matter.
How can I obtain copies of my file? +
You may ask for copies in person or submit a request by mail. Copies are $.50 per page per side, with an additional certification fee of $25.00, if necessary. When requesting copies by mail, please specify the document(s) you are requesting, and include the case number and the party names and approximate dates of the document(s). Please also provide a self-addressed stamped envelope for transmittal of the documents.
If the case number is unknown, there is an additional $15.00 search fee per name required. We will need the full name of the party along with the approximate date of the case and any other information that may assist in locating the file for you.
Please be advised not all files are kept onsite, and you may wish to call ahead before coming into the clerk's office to be sure your file is readily available. Files not in the office may require up to seven days for retrieval. Please note, when requesting copies of entire files, you will be asked to pay for the copies in advance and return at a later time to pick them up.
Do I need to type my forms? +
You may submit handwritten forms as long as they are printed clearly and legibly in blue or black ink.
How do I obtain a copy of my divorce? +
If you know your case number: send a written request with the party names and case number.
If you do not know your case number: send a written request with full names of both parties, the approximate date of the divorce and a search fee of $30.00 ($15.00 per name).
For both, include a self-addressed stamped envelope along with a check for copies at $.50 per page plus an additional $25.00 for certification (if needed). You may note your check “not to exceed $60.00” and we will determine the actual cost based on your request and send a receipt back with your copies.